Our Commitment to Providing a Safe Environment


Update to Maine Travel Policies

Effective immediately, residents of New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut and Rhode Island may travel to Maine without providing a negative COVID-19 test result or quarantining.

Compliance options for visitors from all other states have also been updated to include those who have completed a full COVID-19 vaccination. 

Beginning May 1, 2021, Maine’s COVID-19 travel policy will automatically exempt all states, unless otherwise determined by the Maine CDC. If one or more states experiences a spike in cases of highly contagious COVID-19 variants, the Maine CDC will apply its test or quarantine requirements to travelers to and from that state.  

 Simplifying & Standardizing Capacity Limits and Establishing a Clear Timeframe

The plan transitions Maine’s capacity limits from hard caps in most situations to a straightforward percentage of capacity model consistent across all sectors. The timeframe and capacity adjustments are as follows:

 For indoor gatherings, the percentage of capacity will increase to 50% starting March 26 and 75% starting May 24.

  For outdoor gatherings, the percentage of capacity will increase to 75% starting March 26 and 100% starting May 24. 

 Those businesses that have more capacity under the current policy (50 people for indoor gatherings, 100 people for outdoor gatherings, or 5 people per 1,000 square feet) are permitted to maintain that standard until May 24.

Check this page for updates regarding Covid-19 policies and timelines.https://www.maine.gov/covid19/moving-maine-forward